Where Dutch Flanders meets French Wallonia, this country has provided the world with its famous fine chocolate, Belgian ale, fried potato wedges and waffles. Largely affected during the World War I and II, Brussels is the unofficial capital of the European Union, created to promote peace and cooperation within the continent.

There are three regions: Flanders in the North, where Flemish Dutch is spoken; Wallonia in the South, where French is spoken; and Brussels, the capital of Belgium, which is officially bilingual in French and Dutch. German and English are also very commonly spoken in Belgium, mostly in the larger cities.

Regions and Provinces of Belgium


Dutch (Flemish)-speaking — West Flanders, East Flanders, Antwerp, Limburg, Flemish Brabant:

Antwerp city, Ghent, Bruges, canals


Bilingual (French-Dutch) capital city, unofficial capital of the EU (European Union), surrounded by Flemish Brabant


French-speaking — Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Namur, Liège, Luxembourg:

Dinant, saxophone, rocky hills and deep valleys of the Ardennes, Spa, Tournai, German-speaking eastern Liège

Related Articles by Location


Brussels  •  Bruges  •  Ghent

Brussels: More Than Meets the Eye - Discovering a City—Beyond Just a Hub in Belgium It wasn’t love-at-first-sight when we first arrived in Belgium, and particularly not with Brussels. But ultimately our affection for…

Continue reading → Brussels: More Than Meets the Eye

Locating Belgium - Where in the World? Belgium is located in Northwestern Europe between the Netherlands and France along the North Sea. This small country is divided into…

Continue reading → Locating Belgium

Northwestern Europe - Football-inspired travels led to our discovery of Northwestern Europe and the history architecture, cuisine and cultures found there. While watching the 2018 FIFA World Cup…

Continue reading → Northwestern Europe