The Dutch province of South Holland is home to Den Haag (The Hague), heart of the government—although the official capital is Amsterdam—and seat of the International Court of Justice of the United Nations (UN). In the sub-region of Rijnmond, literally meaning “Rhine mouth” where the Rhine River flows into the North Sea, the modern metropolis of Rotterdam holds the 2nd largest port in the world.

Historic Regions of South Holland


Bulb Region

Leiden, Lisse, Keukenhof flower garden, bulb fields


Den Haag (The Hague), government headquarters, royal palace, beaches of Sheveningen, Delft, Delftware pottery

Green Heart

Gouda cheese market, lakes, water sports


Rotterdam, modern architecture, restaurants, nightlife, large port


Dordrecht, Kinderdijk windmill network, polder area (land reclaimed from the sea and lakes)

South-Hollandic Islands

Historic towns, Islands good for water sports, cycling and hiking

Related Articles

The Hague—Den Haag Discovered. - A WEEK OF SOCCER & WEST NETHERLANDS FROM DEN HAAG A Dutch Football Camp Leads our Family to Experience West Netherlands through this Progressive International…

Continue reading → The Hague—Den Haag Discovered.

Weekend in Amsterdam - Diversity is embraced here. “Weird” might be the Dutch norm due to pragmatic tolerance. This trade city has been accustomed to associating with different cultures, ideologies…

Continue reading → Weekend in Amsterdam

Locating the Netherlands - Where in the World? The Netherlands is located in Northwestern Europe along the North Sea. This small country is divided into 12 official provinces (4…

Continue reading → Locating the Netherlands

Northwestern Europe - Football-inspired travels led to our discovery of Northwestern Europe and the history architecture, cuisine and cultures found there. While watching the 2018 FIFA World Cup…

Continue reading → Northwestern Europe