England should not be confused with Great Britain, which the island that includes Scotland and Wales—two other “home nations”—nor should it be confused with the United Kingdom, which adds the fourth “home nation” of Northern Ireland (on the island of Ireland, politically separate from the state of Ireland).

Politically, the British islands also include the island crown dependencies of the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea and the Channel Islands—Guernsey and Jersey—in the English Channel, though off the coast of France. To further clarify, the British Isles includes the whole of the island of Ireland, in addition to the British islands and Ireland.

Regions of England


Greater London

33 boroughs including City of London, & City of Manchester, Parliament, finance, fashion, culture


Cambridge University, Birmingham, Norwich, Trent river valley, Birmingham, Warwick Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon

Southern England

Bath, Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Oxford University, Brighton beach, white cliffs of Dover

Northern England

Yorkshire, York, Liverpool, Manchester, Lake District, Newcastle, Hadrian’s Wall, Northumberland National Park

Related Articles

The Hague—Den Haag Discovered. - A WEEK OF SOCCER & WEST NETHERLANDS FROM DEN HAAG A Dutch Football Camp Leads our Family to Experience West Netherlands through this Progressive International…

Continue reading → The Hague—Den Haag Discovered.

Weekend in Amsterdam - Diversity is embraced here. “Weird” might be the Dutch norm due to pragmatic tolerance. This trade city has been accustomed to associating with different cultures, ideologies…

Continue reading → Weekend in Amsterdam

Locating the Netherlands - Where in the World? The Netherlands is located in Northwestern Europe along the North Sea. This small country is divided into 12 official provinces (4…

Continue reading → Locating the Netherlands

Northwestern Europe - Football-inspired travels led to our discovery of Northwestern Europe and the history architecture, cuisine and cultures found there. While watching the 2018 FIFA World Cup…

Continue reading → Northwestern Europe