TRAVEL || EUROPE > BRITISH ISLES > United Kingdom + ireland

Atlantic Archipelago

It’s quite easy to become confused about what constitutes the British Isles. Let’s try to clear things up. The British Isles, geographically speaking, consists of two main British and Irish island groups; this refers to the entire group of islands with over six thousand small islands, including:

  • the whole island of Great Britain—England, Scotland, and Wales,
  • the whole island of Ireland—Northern Ireland (UK) and Republic of Ireland,
  • the Isle of Man (British Crown Dependency),
  • the Isle of Wight (Hampshire county, England),
  • the Isles of Scilly (Cornwall county, England),
  • the (Inner and Outer) Hebrides (Scottish archipelago),
  • the Northern Isles of the Orkneys and Shetlands (Scottish archipelago),
  • the Channel Islands (included by some, though not geographically part of the British Isles, but rather, the French coastline).

Each maintains unique cultural backgrounds and regions… and over 2000 years of history.

In reference to the political bodies, the British Isles includes two sovereign states: the United Kingdom (UK) and the Republic of Ireland, plus the Isle of Man, a British Crown Dependency. The Channel Islands of Guernsey and Jersey are also British Crown Dependencies but not geographically part of the British Isles since they are so close to the coastline of France.

UK-world map

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom (UK) is one nation with four countries/provinces, which consist of three countries on the island of Great Britain—England, Scotland, and Wales—plus the province of Northern Ireland (six counties of Ulster) on the island of Ireland.

Linked by ferries and a sophisticated rail system, which even reaches the European continent, this relatively small island nation has been far-reaching in its global impact. A lifetime could be spent exploring its vast array of architectural masterpieces—ancient rock formations, medieval castles, bridges, palaces, churches, monuments, and modern structures—across a diverse landscape.

Note: The British Commonwealth of Nations, known simply as the Commonwealth, is an association of 54 independent countries, or member states—almost all former territories of the British Empire—from every continent around the world “working together for prosperity, democracy and peace.”

Ireland-world map

Republic of Ireland

The Republic of Ireland is a politically separate, independent nation that shares a small portion of the Irish Isle with Northern Ireland (UK province). Ireland is a member state of the European Union (EU), but since 1949 is no longer part of the (British) Commonwealth of Nations.

British Crown Dependencies

Self-governing possessions of the British Crown, the island territories include:

  • the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea,
  • the Channel Islands: the Bailiwick of Guernsey (with Alderney and Sark) and the Bailiwick of Jersey—in the English Channel (near the coastline of France)

British Overseas Territories

The British Crown is also responsible for 14 overseas territories including Gibraltar on the Iberian Peninsula and four island groups in the West Indies: Bermuda, Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands, and the British Virgin Islands.

The United Kingdom

UK “Home Nations” of Great Britain + Northern Ireland

99 counties: England (48) + Scotland (35) + Wales (8) + Northern Ireland (8)
Since Brexit in Jan 2020, the UK is no longer part of the EU (European Union).



33 Boroughs of Greater London

Southern England

Midlands of England

Northern England



Lowlands of Scotland

Highlands + Islands of Scotland



Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland

The Republic of Ireland

Independent nation, separate nation from the UK and part of the EU (European Union)


British Crown Dependencies

Self-governing island territories, separate from the UK

Isle of Man

+ Channel Islands: Bailiwicks of Guernsey and Jersey

Kensington in London


England is the largest country in the nation and includes London, the capital of the United Kingdom (UK) that has been occupied for over two millennia (2000 years).

See the official England Tourism pages.

Explore Places of the British Isles

Countries + Cities