TRAVEL > EUROPE > FRANCE > Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes


Two main rivers and tributaries of the Loire and the Rhône flow through Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, located in the southeast of France.

This region surrounding the city of Lyon is border to the east by the Alps mountains. In 2016, France merged two of its former regions, Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes. The combined region comprises 12 departments: Allier, Puy-de-Dôme, Cantal, and Haute-Loire from Auvergne, and Loire, Rhône, Ain, Haute-Savoie, Savoie, Isère, Drôme, and Ardèche from Rhône-Alpes filled with history, culture, and nature preserves.


The area from Rhône-Alpes includes 3 major cities: Lyon, Grenoble, and Saint-Étienne, all UNESCO World Heritage sites with Chambéry and Annecy. Historic Gallo-Roman ruins also dot the land like those in the town of Vienne. This region, known for gastronomy and wine production of Beaujolais and Côtes du Rhône, is filled with stunning natural beauty. Lakes, hills, mountains, and gorges include notable Lac Léman (Lake Geneva), Lac du Bourget, Lac d’Annecy, Gorges de l’Ardèche, and Mont Blanc, the highest peak in the Alps. Here, the region hosted 3 Winter Olympics at Chamonix, Grenoble, and Albertville.

Oak forests of Forêt de Tronçais, pastures, lakes, and ponds fill the rural area of Auvergne between the northern hills and southern dormant volcanic landforms of Massif Central in the Monts Dore and the Chaîne des Puys mountain ranges.

Photo Gallery

Coming soon

Paris Explored