Argentine Republic

The second-largest country in South America, eighth in the world, Argentina occupies most of the continent’s southern cone-shaped tip along the South Atlantic. A country known for tango and gauchos, wine and beef, Argentine regions span from soaring mountains to fertile hills, semi-arid plains to alluvial rivers, temperate rainforests to Antarctic polar zones.

The capital of Buenos Aires is a large Atlantic port city across the Rio de la Plata from the country of Uruguay in the North. The Uruguay River divides Argentina from Uruguay and Brazil. The river’s wide mouth, at its confluence with the Paraná River which flows from Brazil to form a border between Argentina and Paraguay, flows into the Rio de la Plata estuary, often considered the widest river in the world along which Argentina and Uruguay are the most populous.

Between these two rivers sits the Argentine region of Mesopotamia, named after the ancient fertile crescent in Iraq, meaning “land between rivers.” At the north end of this region, upstream from its confluence with the Paraná River, the Iguazú River creates a chasmic border with Brazil at Iguazú Falls, the largest waterfall system in the world and the Iguazú National Park’s most famous tourist attraction.

Further south is another popular destination: San Carlos de Bariloche is a town in Patagonia along Lago Nahuel Huapi, a large glacial lake surrounded by the Andes Mountains, the range that extends from north to south forming Argentina’s western border with Chile and its northwestern border with Bolivia. In the Argentine Cuyo, Aconcagua is the highest peak in the Americas and the Southern Hemisphere at 22,838 feet in northern Patagonia near the Chilean border. Malbec wine grapes grow particularly well in the hills east of the range.

*Note: AMG Inspired is reader-supported. When you click and buy through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. Please help support content for this site. Contact AMG Inspired for direct contributions.

Regions + Provinces of Argentina


Buenos Aires (province) + La Pampa + Córdoba + Santa Fe

Buenos Aires (autonomous city)

Capital City with 48 Barrios


Entre Ríos + Corrientes + Misiones


Chaco + Formosa

Andean Northwest

Jujuy + Salta + Santiago del Estero + Tukumán + Catamarca + La Rioja


San Juan + San Luis + Mendoza


Neuquén + Rio Négro + Chubut + Santa Cruz

Tierra del Fuego

Explore Places in Argentina

Cities + Regions

Basics of Argentina

Know Before You Go


official language

Argentine Peso $



official provinces

Buenos Aires

capital of Argentina

Photo Gallery

Read More

All About Argentina

Argentine Asado in the Tigre Delta

Similar to our American barbecue in some ways, the idea of a full asado is foreign—a cultural experience, unique to Argentines. Ours awaited a short way from Tigre into the expansive Paraná Delta. This foodie’s bucket list item—check. We piled into the dinghy and braced ourselves. The marina behind us quickly disappeared as Frederic ripped…

Keep reading

6 Elements of the Argentinian Asado

What is an Asado? In Argentina, “Asado” means Barbeque, which refers to the event and/or cut of meat (short ribs or spare ribs). The name originates from the Spanish verb asar, meaning to grill. 6 Elements of the Asado  Photos from our Asado in the Tigre Delta

Keep reading