1. |
  3. |
  4. Oceania


Oceania is a collective of islands dotting the Central and South Pacific Ocean surrounding the island continent of Australia, which is bordered by the Indian Ocean on the west.

Islands of Oceania


British commonwealth: island-continent of 6 states (including Tasmania island) + 2 territories; additional Pacific Ocean island territories: Coral Sea Islands, Norfolk Island; Indian Ocean island territories: Christmas Island, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Cocos Islands, Heard Island and Macdonald Islands; Antarctic Territory

New Zealand

Polynesian islands of New Zealand realm Māori culture (North Island, South Islands, +700 small islands), Tokelau, Cook Islands, Niue, Ross Dependency of Antarctica

Papua New Guinea

Largest island of Melanesia: eastern half is an independent country and British commonwealth (western half forms Indonesia province); Meganesia (or Sahul Shelf) is the continental landmass of Australia, Tasmania, and New Guinea


Islands of New Guinea (aka Papua): Papua New Guinea (country in eastern half) and western half (Indonesia provinces); countries of Soloman Islands, Fiji, Vanuatu; New Caledonia (France territory), Norfolk Island (Australia territory)


Tropical marine climate, small islands: Palau, Micronesia (FSM), Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands (US territories)


Polynesian triangle: Hawaiian Islands (US), Easter Island (Chile), New Zealand at furthest points of Central and South Pacific; 3 countries of Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu; thousands of islands including Cook Islands (New Zealand associate), Niue (New Zealand associate), Tokelau (New Zealand territory), American Samoa (US territory), French Polynesia (France), Wallis and Futuna (France)