England is the largest and southernmost country in the United Kingdom on the isle of Britain with nine regions. Beyond the capital region of Greater London, the remaining eight regions are divided into 84 metropolitan and non-metropolitan administrative counties. London, the UK’s capital city, lies in the southeast of the country.

*Note: AMG Inspired is reader-supported. When you click and buy through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. Please help support content for this site. Contact AMG Inspired for direct contributions.

Regions and Counties of England

Capital Region

Greater London

20 outer boroughs + 12 inner boroughs + the City of London:

City of London

+ 12 Inner Boroughs:
City of Westminster + Kensington and Chelsea + Hammersmith and Fulham + Camden + Islington + Hackney + Tower Hamlets + Greenwich + Lewisham + Southwark + Lambeth + Wandsworth

Southern England

South West

Cornwall + Devon + Dorset + Somerset (Bath) + Bristol + Gloucestershire (the Cotswolds) + Wiltshire (Stonehenge & Avebury)

South East

Hampshire + Isle of Wight + Oxfordshire (Oxford University) + Berkshire + Buckinghamshire + Surrey + Kent (Dover) + West Sussex + East Sussex (Brighton)

East of England

Bedfordshire + Hertfordshire + Essex + (East Anglia): Cambridgeshire (Cambridge University) + Norfolk (Norwich) + Suffolk


West Midlands

Herefordshire + Shropshire + Staffordshire + Worcestershire + West Midlands (Birmingham) + Warwickshire (Stratford-upon-Avon)

East Midlands

Leicestershire + Derbyshire + Nottinghamshire + Lincolnshire + Rutland + Northamptonshire

Northern England


Cheshire + Cumbria (Lake District & Hadrian’s Wall) + Merseyside (Liverpool) + Greater Manchester + Lancashire


West Yorkshire (Leeds) + South Yorkshire (Sheffield) + East Riding of Yorkshire (Hull) + North Yorkshire (York)


County Durham + Tyne and Wear (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) + Northumberland


Explore Places of England

Regions + Cities

Read More

About England

England Explored

Travel Guide to London: Kensington and Chelsea

As I poked between the iron gate, I heard a voice warn, “No photos.” I looked up from the estate to see a gentleman emerge from the buildings to kindly deliver his message. I was just there for the architecture. Beautiful details called to me, begging for my admiration. And although I was no threat,…

London Boroughs

It’s impossible to see all of London in a few days, but we worked to discover as much as possible on our trip to Northwestern Europe. London is the dynamic capital of the United Kingdom. Located in England, the metropolis of Greater London is divided into 33 boroughs. These smaller districts create manageable areas within…


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.