In the central north of France, the capital city of Paris is surrounded by a small inner ring of 3 departments, then a large outer ring of 4 departments.

Of France’s eighteen official regions, this capital region of 8 total departments is the most visited by tourists who flock to the area’s many landmarks and historic sites. The region is rich in gastronomy, cheese, pastries, museums and galleries, cathedrals, and monuments.

City Préfecture (Department)

Métropole du Grand Paris Map


Petit Couronne

  • Nanterre (Hauts-de-Seine)
  • Bobigny (Seine-Saint-Denis)
  • Créteil (Val-de-Marne)

Grande Couronne

  • Evry (Essonne)
  • Melun (Seine-et-Marne) + Fontainebleau, Vaux-le-Vicomte
  • Pontoise (Val-d’Oise)
  • Versailles (Yvelines)

Île-de-France—the capital land “island” between three rivers: the Seine, Oise, and Marne—beyond Paris, is home to historic royal palaces of Versailles and Fontainebleau, chateau Vaux-le-Vicomte, and is the seat of the French government and institutions.

Île-de-France Explored

Paris: First Experience

I’ve always believed that travel is good for the mind and soul. It exposes us to culture, language, food and surroundings beyond the familiar setting of our everyday. On one such trip to France with my husband, I worked to capture the allure of this culture in photos as my eye could capture. Among the…

Continue reading → Paris: First Experience