England, the largest of three “home nations” on the island of Great Britain that includes Scotland and Wales, is a part of the United Kingdom, which adds the fourth “home nation” Northern Ireland on the island of Ireland, but politically separate from the Republic of Ireland (the independent country).

Regions of England

Greater London

City of London + City of Westminster + Kensington and Chelsea + Hammersmith and Fulham + Camden + Islington + Hackney + Tower Hamlets + Greenwich + Lewisham + Southwark + Lambeth + Wandsworth

33 boroughs including the 13 inner London boroughs listed above, Parliament, finance, fashion, culinary art, cultural diversity


Herefordshire + Shropshire + Staffordshire + Worcestershire + West Midlands + Warwickshire + Leicestershire + Derbyshire + Nottinghamshire + Lincolnshire + Rutland + Northamptonshire + Bedfordshire + Hertfordshire + Cambridgeshire + Norfolk + Suffolk + Essex

Cambridge University, Birmingham, Norwich, Trent river valley, Warwick Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon

Southern England

Cornwall + Devon + Somerset + Dorset + Gloucestershire + Wiltshire + Hampshire + Isle of Wight + Oxfordshire + Berkshire + Buckinghamshire + Surrey + Kent + West Sussex + East Sussex

Bath, Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, Oxford University, Brighton beach, white cliffs of Dover

Northern England

Cheshire + Merseyside + Greater Manchester + Lancashire + West Yorkshire + South Yorkshire + East Riding of Yorkshire + North Yorkshire + Durham + Tyne and Wear + Cumbria + North Umberland

Yorkshire, York, Liverpool, Manchester, Lake District, Newcastle, Hadrian’s Wall, Northumberland National Park

England Explored

London Boroughs

It’s impossible to see all of London in a few days, but we worked to discover as much as possible on our trip to Northwestern Europe. London is the dynamic capital of the United Kingdom. Located in England, the metropolis of Greater London is divided into 33 boroughs. These smaller districts create manageable areas within…

Continue reading → London Boroughs