United under one kingdom, Great Britain — England, Scotland and Wales — and Northern Ireland, maintain unique cultural backgrounds and regions… and over 2000 years of history.

In addition to these four “home nations,” the United Kingdom includes the British crown dependency islands: the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea and the Channel Islands—Guernsey, Jersey, Alderney, and Sark—in the English Channel (off the coast of France).

The British Isles consists of the entire group of islands, including the whole island of Ireland—Northern Ireland and the politically separate Republic of Ireland (the independent country)—the Isle of Man, the Scottish archipelagos of Hebrides and the Northern Isles of Orkney and Shetland, and over six thousand small islands.

Linked by a sophisticated rail system, this relatively small island nation has been far reaching in its global impact. A lifetime could be spent exploring its vast array of architectural masterpieces of ancient rock formations, medieval castles, bridges, palaces, cathedrals, monuments and modern structures across a diverse landscape.

“Home Nations” of the United Kingdom


Greater London, Manchester, Yorkshire, Stonehenge, Bath, Cotswolds


Edinburgh, Glasgow, ruined abbeys


Cardiff, Swansea, Celtic culture, coastline, mountains, forests

Northern Ireland

Counties of Ulster, Belfast, Giants Causeway

United Kingdom Explored